The Pain of Missing a Race

As I feared, I didn’t get my body back in track in time for the Bulldog 50k. It is not the first race I have missed due to a cold but this race was different. The feeling is different.

It was really painful standing there at the finish line in the mountains above Malibu. Such a beautiful countryside, such a perfect setting for an ultra marathon. A race I couldn’t race even though I had prepared myself so well for it.

I was really looking forward to the race and to finishing my first ultra. Even now, a day later, I feel really sad. I went out for my first short and slow run after a week of laying on my back with a cold but this bad feeling – like a really sad pain – is still there.

The good thing though is that missing this race motivates me even more to get rid of this virus once and for all. I am highly motivated to get back into training and racing and even though it will take a lot of focus and effort to adjust my lifestyle in order to maintain my body health, I am sure that next season will be a great season. Maybe even this season.

Having my eyes set on the Santa Monica Ultra on November 23rd.

Time for me to feed my body.

Talk to you later.
Till

Leave a Reply

